Summit League Welcomes Montgomery to Staff

Summit League Welcomes Montgomery to Staff

ELMHURST, Ill. – Summit League Commissioner Tom Douple announced the hiring of Sherika Montgomery Monday morning. Montgomery will take over as the league's associate commissioner of governance and compliance on August 1 when the league office moves to Sioux Falls, S.D.

In her new role, Montgomery will oversee all aspects of the NCAA compliance program within the league and serve as the primary compliance liaison with member institutions.

"Montgomery has outstanding experiences as an NCAA Division I student-athlete, campus administrator, seven years as a DI conference administrator and is a member of several NCAA committees," said Commissioner Douple. "She will bring great leadership and perspective to our league. We are thrilled to have her join our staff."

Montgomery comes to The Summit League with an extensive amount of athletics knowledge and an accomplished résumé. Most recently, Montgomery served as the associate athletic director for student success at Winthrop University for 15-plus months, supervising NCAA compliance, athletic academic services, sports medicine, strength and conditioning, sport psychology and leadership development in Rock Hill, S.C.

Before arriving on campus, Montgomery was the Big South Conference's Assistant Commissioner for Compliance and Senior Woman Administrator for nearly three years. There, Montgomery assisted in the research, development, coordination and implementation of the conference's strategic plan and provided counsel in the administration of regular season and championship management for 19 sports—among a long list of other duties.


THE SUMMIT LEAGUE has hired Sherika Montgomery (Winthrop University) as its Associate Commissioner of Governance and Compliance. 


Through 36 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 115,000 at nine institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Purdue Fort Wayne (Purdue University Fort Wayne), the University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 95 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.


2018-19 Basketball Media Day
October 19, 2018 2018-19 Basketball Media Day