Summit League Announces Winter/Spring Academic Honor Roll

Summit League Announces Winter/Spring Academic Honor Roll

Complete Winter/Spring Academic Honor Roll Release

ELMHURST, Ill. − With the 2012-13 academic year complete, The Summit League has announced its Academic Honor Roll for the winter and spring seasons. A total of 1,090 Summit League student-athletes from baseball, men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s golf, softball, men’s and women’s swimming & diving, men’s and women’s tennis and men’s and women’s track & field have been honored for their academic excellence.

South Dakota State landed a league-high 160 selections on The Summit League’s Winter/Spring Academic Honor Roll. Oakland had 146 recipients while South Dakota followed with 132 honorees, edging out Western Illinois with 131 student-athletes. Next was Omaha with 112 which was two recipients ahead of North Dakota State’s 110. IUPUI landed 105 student-athletes to the list followed by Fort Wayne with 93 and Kansas City’s 76. Meanwhile, associate men’s and women’s swimming & diving member Eastern Illinois placed 25 student-athletes on the team.

In order to be selected to the Academic Honor Roll, a student-athlete must have a 3.0 or better grade-point average (GPA) in the semester in which they compete and must use a year of eligibility. In order to be named a Distinguished Scholar, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.60 GPA. 

The complete list of the 2012-13 Summit League Winter/Spring Academic Honor Roll can be found by clicking the link above. The list of Distinguished Scholars was announced Thursday.

Entering its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 144,000 at nine universities, four of which are located in top 58 U.S. metro populations (Detroit, Indianapolis, Kansas City and Omaha). Member institutions include: Fort Wayne (Indiana-Purdue-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), Kansas City (University of Missouri-Kansas City), Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), North Dakota State University, Oakland University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 54 All-Americans, 37 Academic All-America selections and seven NCAA Championships. For more information about the league and its history, visit to “See The Summit” or follow on Twitter @thesummitleague.