The Summit League Welcomes the University of Denver

The Summit League Welcomes the University of Denver


ELMHURST, Ill. – The Summit League officially welcomes its newest member, the University of Denver, today. Denver had announced its acceptance of The Summit League’s membership invitation in November 2012.

The Pioneers, who compete in men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s golf, men’s and women’s soccer, men’s and women’s swimming and diving, men’s and women’s tennis, and women’s volleyball, will be immediately eligible for all Summit League Championships during the 2013-14 season. Denver has won five of the last five NCAA Division I-AAA Director’s Cups, including the 2012-13 award.

Founded in 1864, the University of Denver has an enrollment of 11,797, including 5,453 undergraduates and 6,344 graduate students. Academically, the Wall Street Journal’s 2007 rankings of top business schools ranked DU’s Daniels College of Business seventh in the nation for producing graduates with high ethical standards. Daniels College of Business is in the top 15 percent of undergraduate programs and the top five percent of graduate programs among the approximately 550 business schools accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB). U.S. News & World Report’s annual 2012 college rankings for undergraduate education place Denver 82nd among national doctorial universities.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 122,000 at eight universities, three of which are located in top 59 metro populations. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Championships 62 All-Americans and 45 Academic All-America selections.