Summit League Announces Fall Academic Honor Roll

Summit League Announces Fall Academic Honor Roll

Fall Academic Honor Roll

ELMHURST, Ill. − With the first semester of the 2012-13 academic year complete, The Summit League has announced its Academic Honor Roll for the fall season. A total of 533 Summit League student-athletes from men’s and women’s cross country, men’s and women’s soccer and volleyball have been honored for their academic excellence.

Oakland landed a league-high 73 selections on The Summit League’s Fall Academic Honor Roll. Kansas City placed 63 honorees on the list followed by 59 selections from Western Illinois, one ahead of Fort Wayne with 58. South Dakota State landed 56 selections to the Honor Roll followed closely by Omaha (55 selections) and IUPUI and South Dakota with 52 honorees each. North Dakota State placed 36 student-athletes of the list. Associate men’s soccer members Eastern Illinois and Oral Roberts placed 12 and 17 student-athletes on the team, respectively.

In order to be selected to the Academic Honor Roll, a student-athlete must have a 3.0 or better grade-point average (GPA) in the semester in which they compete and must use a year of eligibility. In order to be named a Distinguished Scholar, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.60 GPA.

The complete list of the 2012 Summit League Fall Academic Honor Roll can be accessed by clicking on the link above. The list of Academic Distinguished Scholars was announced Thursday.

Entering its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 144,000 at nine universities, four of which are located in top 58 U.S. metro populations (Detroit, Indianapolis, Kansas City and Omaha). Member institutions include: Fort Wayne (Indiana-Purdue-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), Kansas City (University of Missouri-Kansas City), Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), North Dakota State University, Oakland University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 54 All-Americans, 37 Academic All-America selections and seven NCAA Championships. For more information about the league and its history, visit to “See The Summit” or follow on Twitter @thesummitleague.