Summit League Releases 2013 Fall Sports League Schedules

Summit League Releases 2013 Fall Sports League Schedules

Men’s Soccer Schedule
Women’s Soccer Schedule
Volleyball Schedule

ELMHURST, Ill. – The Summit League released its schedule of 2013 league contests for the fall sports of men’s soccer, women’s soccer and volleyball today.

The nine men’s soccer teams will begin league play on Sept. 28, highlighted by a rematch of the tournament championship match between Oakland and Western Illinois in Macomb. League matches are scheduled every Saturday until Nov. 9, along with a pair of mid-week dates on Oct. 9 and Oct. 30. The league tournament takes place Nov. 15th and 17th.

In women’s soccer, the 10 league squads will begin play the weekend of Oct. 4-6. League newcomer Denver, a Sweet 16 participant, hits the road on opening weekend for matches at league champion and NCAA Second Round participant Oakland and league runner-up Fort Wayne. Following the conclusion of the five weekend league schedule, the top four teams will advance to the tournament which takes place Nov. 8th and 10th.

The double round-robin league volleyball schedule begins the weekend of Sept. 19-23 and concludes with all 10 teams in action on Nov. 16. Regular season champion IUPUI battles tournament champion Fort Wayne on Sept. 21, marking both teams’ second league match. The two squads meet again on Oct. 18 in Indianapolis.

Entering its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 144,000 at nine universities, four of which are located in top 58 U.S. metro populations (Detroit, Indianapolis, Kansas City and Omaha). Member institutions include: Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), Kansas City (University of Missouri-Kansas City), North Dakota State University, Oakland University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 54 All-Americans, 37 Academic All-America selections and seven NCAA Championships. For more information about the league and its history, visit or follow on Twitter @thesummitleague.