NDSU’s Pierzchalski, UNO’s Kinney Earn #SummitBSB Honors

NDSU’s Pierzchalski, UNO’s Kinney Earn #SummitBSB Honors

ELMHURST, Ill. – North Dakota State infielder Mason Pierzchalski was named Summit League Baseball Player of the Week, while Omaha starter Payton Kinney earned the Pitcher of the Week award for their performances Feb. 26 – March 4.

Mason Pierzchalski, North Dakota State
Sr. // IF // Sammamish, Wash.

  • Earned his third career Player of the Week honor and first this season
  • Recorded a pair of three-hit games in the four-game series at Northern Colorado
  • Had six extra base hits, including four doubles
  • Tallied nine RBI, four walks, three runs scored and no strikeouts
  • Batted .611 (11-for-18) with a 1.111 slugging percentage and .682 on-base percentage

Also nominated: Shannon Baker, Fort Wayne; Thomas DeBonville, Omaha; Cal Hernandez, Oral Roberts; Anthony Schneider, South Dakota State

Previous honorees: Feb. 19 – Spencer Henson, Oral Roberts; Feb. 26 – Logan Busch, North Dakota State

Payton Kinney, Omaha
Sr. // RHP // Firth, Neb.

  • Recorded his first career Pitcher of the Week award
  • Tossed a no-hitter in Omaha's 4-0 win over Ohio in Emerson, Ga.
  • Went the distance, striking out a career-high tying nine batters
  • Second league player to throw a no-hitter this season

Also nominated: Brandon Phelps, Fort Wayne; Blake Stockert, North Dakota State; Miguel Ausua, Oral Roberts

Previous honorees: Feb. 19 – Justin McGregor, Oral Roberts; Feb. 26 – Riley Johnson, North Dakota State

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.


ORU Takes Down Pac 12 Foe Utah
February 16, 2018 ORU Takes Down Pac 12 Foe Utah