Five-Run First Inning Propels ORU Past Oklahoma State

Oral Roberts' Nick Roark
Oral Roberts' Nick Roark

Oral Roberts defeated No. 12 Oklahoma State for the second time this season to earn the two-game season sweep over the Cowboys.

Oral Roberts 6, No. 12 Oklahoma State 5
TULSA, Okla. ( -- Nick Roark's solo home run in the fifth inning proved the deciding factor as the Oral Roberts baseball team held off a late rally by No. 12 Oklahoma State in a 6-5, upset victory Tuesday night at J.L. Johnson Stadium. The win stretched the Golden Eagles' win streak to a season-high six games and snapped a seven-game streak for the nationally-ranked Cowboys.

After the Golden Eagles took command early with a five-run first inning, thanks to a bases-clearing double by Jared Montoya, Roark padded the lead on his second home run of the season. The Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, product lined the first pitch of the fifth off the foul pole in left to push the margin to 6-0. The Cowboys answered back plating five runs in the seventh and had chances to even the score, but it was the ORU bullpen and defense that held strong to the finish throwing out the tying run at the plate in the ninth inning.

Taylor Varnell pitched four incredible innings in the start giving up one hit before exiting with an injury to open the fifth. Brady Womacks, Grant Townsend, Colton Larkins and Kyler Stouttossed the final five innings and combined to strike out nine, preserving the Golden Eagles' ninth victory in the last 10 meetings against OSU.

In other Tuesday action, North Dakota State took down Mayville State by an 8-5 score. Follow #SummitBSB news, results and statistics all season long here.

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.


ORU Takes Down Pac 12 Foe Utah
February 16, 2018 ORU Takes Down Pac 12 Foe Utah