#SummitBSB Championship Begins Wednesday

#SummitBSB Championship Begins Wednesday

Championship Page | Bracket | Twitter

TULSA, Okla. – The Summit League Baseball Championship is set for Wednesday through Saturday at J.L. Johnson Stadium on the campus of Oral Roberts University.

The double elimination tournament begins Wednesday with No. 2 Western Illinois taking on No. 3 North Dakota State at Noon CT, followed by host and top-seeded Oral Roberts battling No. 4 South Dakota State at 6 p.m. CT.

The winner will be crowned league champion on Saturday and earn The Summit League's automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament.

All-session tickets are on sale for $75 for box seats, $60 for reserved seating and $45 for general admission. Single-game prices are $20 for box seats, $15 for reserved seating and $10 for general admission.

Contests scheduled Wednesday-Friday will be streamed on The Summit League website with Saturday championship game(s) on Cox/Yurview. All streaming will be free of charge.

Five Things to Know for The Summit League Baseball Championship

1.)    Oral Roberts captured its record 18th regular season title in 2018 and will be looking to claim its 19th tournament crown. The Golden Eagles have won the tournament all 18 years they have been in the league (1998-2012; 2015-17) and have an all-time tournament record of 59-3.

2.)    Tulsa will host the tournament for the 15th time, the most of any city in any league-sponsored sport.

3.)    North Dakota State, the 2014 champion, is looking to become the first No. 3 seed to capture the tournament title in Summit League history.

4.)    Participating in its ninth Summit League Championship, South Dakota State earned the No. 4 seed for the first time ever. The Jackrabbits have qualified for the league tournament in 9 of its 10 years eligible and are looking to become just the second No. 4 seed to win it all (North Dakota State, 2014).

5.)    Western Illinois is the No. 2 seed for the 11th time in program history. The Fighting Leathernecks are looking to capture their first-ever tournament title.

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.


ORU Takes Down Pac 12 Foe Utah
February 16, 2018 ORU Takes Down Pac 12 Foe Utah