SDSU’s Daum Named to National Player of the Year Watch List

SDSU’s Daum Named to National Player of the Year Watch List

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) – The U.S. Basketball Writers Association has selected 32 outstanding players for its 2017-18 Oscar Robertson Trophy Preseason Watch List, which includes The Summit League's reigning Player of the Year and Tournament MVP Mike Daum of South Dakota State. Members of the association's board of directors chose the players to be included on the list as contenders for the Oscar Robertson Trophy.

Daum, the nation's leading returning scorer (25.1 points per game a year ago) is among the 10 preseason conference players of the year on the list and one of two mid-major representatives among the 32 preseason candidates. He earned the Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week award on Feb. 21 of last season.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy is to be presented to the national player of the year by its namesake at the NCAA Final Four in San Antonio.

Fifteen of the 32 players are listed as forwards, with 14 guards and three centers making the list. Four selections are international players.

Following is the complete watch list:

G Jaylen Adams, St. Bonaventure (6-2, 190, Sr., Baltimore, Md.)
F Deng Adel, Louisville (6-7, 200, Jr., Melbourne, Australia)
G Grayson Allen, Duke (6-5, 205, Sr., Jacksonville, Fla.)
G KeVaughn Allen, Florida (6-2, 193, Jr., Little Rock, Ark.)
F Deandre Ayton, Arizona (7-1, 250, Fr., Nassau, Bahamas)
F Marvin Bagley III, Duke (6-11, 234, Fr., Phoenix, Ariz.)
C Mohamed Bamba, Texas (6-11, 225, Fr., New York, N.Y.)
G Joel Berry II, North Carolina (6-0, 195, Sr., Apopka, Fla.)
G Trevon Bluiett, Xavier (6-6, 198, Sr., Indianapolis, Ind.)
F Miles Bridges, Michigan State (6-7, 225, So., Flint, Mich.)
G Bruce Brown Jr., Miami (6-5, 190, So., Boston, Mass.)
G Jalen Brunson, Villanova (6-3, 190, Jr., Lincolnshire, Ill.)
G Jevon Carter, West Virginia (6-2, 205, Sr., Maywood, Ill.)
F Wendell Carter Jr., Duke (6-10, 259, Fr., Atlanta, Ga.)
F Gary Clark, Cincinnati (6-8, 225, Sr., Clayton, N.C.)
F Bonzie Colson, Notre Dame (6-6, 224, Sr., New Bedford, Mass.)
F Mike Daum, South Dakota State (6-9, 150, Jr., Kimball, Neb.)
C Angel Delgado, Seton Hall (6-10, 245, Sr., Bajos de Haina, D.R.)
G Hamidou Diallo, Kentucky (6-5, 198, Fr., Queens, N.Y.)
G Trevon Duval, Duke (6-3, 186, Fr., New Castle, Del.)
G Devonté Graham, Kansas (6-2, 185, Sr., Raleigh, N.C.)
C Ethan Happ, Wisconsin (6-10, 235, Jr., Milan, Ill.)
F Kevin Knox, Kentucky (6-9, 215, Fr., Tampa, Fla.)
C Jock Landale, Saint Mary's (6-11, 255, Sr., Malvern East, Australia)
F Yante Maten, Georgia (6-8, 240, Sr., Pontiac, Mich.)
F Chimezie Metu, USC (6-11, 225, Jr., Lawndale, Calif.)
F Michael Porter Jr., Missouri (6-10, 215, Fr., Columbia, Mo.)
G Collin Sexton, Alabama (6-3, 190, Fr., Mableton, Ga.)
G Landry Shamet, Wichita State (6-4, 180, So., Kansas City, Mo.)
F Reid Travis, Stanford (6-8, 245, Jr., Minneapolis, Minn.)
G Allonzo Trier, Arizona (6-5, 205, Jr., Seattle, Wash.)
F Robert Williams, Texas A&M (6-10, 241, So., Oil City, La.)

By conference: ACC 8, SEC 7, Pac-12 4, Big 12 3, Big East 3, American Athletic 2, Big Ten 2, Atlantic-10 1, Summit League 1, West Coast 1.

By position: Forwards 15, Guards 14, Centers 3.

By class: Seniors 11, Juniors 8, Sophomores 4, Freshmen 9.

While these standout players are the initial contenders for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, all NCAA Division I players are eligible for postseason honors from the USBWA. For the ninth straight season, the USBWA will present an Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week each Tuesday beginning Dec. 12.

In mid-March, the USBWA will announce its 2017-18 All-America Team and, at that time, finalists will also be chosen for the player of the year. Once finalists are announced, the entire USBWA membership will vote for the winner of the Oscar Robertson Trophy.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's oldest player of the year award and the only one named after a former player.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With more than 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season.

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League features men's basketball teams from eight member institutions: Denver, Fort Wayne, North Dakota State, Omaha, Oral Roberts, South Dakota, South Dakota State and Western Illinois with North Dakota becoming an official member for the 2018-19 season. In 2016-17, The Summit League finished with an all-time best No. 14 Sagarin Rating, achieved its sixth consecutive league top-20 RPI finish. The Summit League sent three teams to the postseason for the sixth straight year, highlighted by the deepest postseason tournament run since 2012. Called "March's Best-Kept Secret" by USA Today, The Summit League Basketball Championships again posted record-setting attendance figures, posting new marks for overall and session attendance. This season's event returns to the Denny Sanford PREMIER Center in Sioux Falls, S.D., March 3-6, 2018. For more information about the league, "See The Summit" by visiting and following Summit League Basketball on Twitter @summithoops.


2018-19 Basketball Media Day
October 19, 2018 2018-19 Basketball Media Day
#SummitMBB Weekly Notebook
February 20, 2018 #SummitMBB Weekly Notebook
#SummitMBB Saturday Recap
February 17, 2018 #SummitMBB Saturday Recap
#SummitMBB Saturday Recaps
February 10, 2018 #SummitMBB Saturday Recaps
#SummitMBB Saturday Recap
February 3, 2018 #SummitMBB Saturday Recap