Summit League standouts earn NABC and USBWA All-District nods

North Dakota State's Vinnie Shahid added NABC All-District 12 first-team accolades to his growing list of awards this postseason.
North Dakota State's Vinnie Shahid added NABC All-District 12 first-team accolades to his growing list of awards this postseason.

NABC Release | USBWA Release

Five Summit League men's basketball players were named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches' All-District 12 Team on Monday. Summit League Player of the Year Douglas Wilson of South Dakota State was joined on the first team by North Dakota State's Vinnie Shahid and South Dakota's Tyler Hagedorn. Wilson was also the lone Summit League player to earn a spot on the United States Basketball Writers Association All-District XI Team.

In his first season with the Jackrabbits, Wilson averaged 18.6 ppg and shot better than 60 percent from the floor to lead SDSU to a share of the program's third-straight regular-season title. Shahid averaged 18.4 ppg and racked up his second-consecutive Summit Men's Basketball Championship MVP honor after leading the Bison to the tournament title. Hagedorn returned to the floor after missing the entire 2018-19 season and averaged 18.1 ppg in helping lead the Coyotes to a 20-win campaign.  

Oral Roberts' Emmanuel Nzekwesi and North Dakota State's Tyson Ward were named to the second team, rounding out the quintet, who all earned All-Summit League first-team accolades following the regular season. Nzekwesi (16.3 ppg/9.9 rpg) and Ward (16.9 ppg/7.2 rpg) both ranked among the league's top-10 scorers and top-five rebounders during their final collegiate seasons. 

These are the first all-district nods for each member of the group and marks the fourth time in the last five years the Summit League made up at least half of the selections on the first and second team.

NABC All-District 12
(Summit League and Horizon League)

First Team
Loudon Love, Wright State
Douglas Wilson, South Dakota State
Vinnie Shahid, North Dakota State
Tyler Hagedorn, South Dakota
Antoine Davis, Detroit Mercy

Second Team
Emmanuel Nzekwesi, Oral Roberts
Tyler Sharp, Northern Kentucky
Tyson Ward, North Dakota State
Bill Wampler, Wright State
Darius Quisenberry, Youngstown State

USBWA All-District XI
(Iowa, Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota)
Player of the Year:
Luke Garza, Iowa
Coach of the Year: Greg McDermott, Creighton

All-District Team
Ty-Shon Alexander, Creighton
Udoka Azubuike, Kansas
Kristian Doolittle, Oklahoma
Devon Dotson, Kansas
Marcus Garrett, Kansas
Luke Garza, Iowa
A.J. Green, UNI
Tyrese Haliburton, Iowa State
Joe Weiskamp, Iowa
Douglas Wilson, South Dakota State

Follow The Summit League
SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram