SDSU Selected to Represent #SummitSB in the National Invitational Softball Championship

BROOKINGS, S.D. ( - For the first time in 22 years, South Dakota State softball is headed for the postseason. After reaching the 2018 Summit League Championship finals last weekend, the Jackrabbits were announced as a part of a 17-team field in the 2018 National Invitational Softball Championship Sunday evening.
The Jackrabbits (34-16) earned the automatic bid from The Summit League and are part of a four-team, double-elimination regional May 16-18 in Greeley, Colorado. SDSU will take on Colorado State Wednesday at 4 p.m. CT in a first-round game. Host Northern Colorado and Loyola Maramount meet Wednesday evening at 7 p.m. CT. 

The regional champion will advance to a final double-elimination event played May 23-26 at a to-be-determined host site. 

"This is an amazing opportunity for SDSU softball," head coach Krista Wood said. "We are excited to be making our first-ever postseason appearance at the Division I level and look forward to representing Jackrabbit nation and The Summit League."
The National Invitational Softball Championship is operated, supervised and directed by Triple Crown Sports, a sports event company based in Fort Collins, Colorado, in collaboration with the National Fastpitch Coaches Association. This marks the second year of the tournament, which features eight teams that have won 30 games or more during the 2018 season and six teams that finished second or better during the regular season in their respective conferences. Visit for more information.

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.orgwebsite, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.