North Dakota State named indoor track and field champs

North Dakota State named indoor track and field champs

Interview with North Dakota State head men's coach Don Larson | Interview with North Dakota State head women's coach Stevie Keller

FORT WAYNE, IND. –For the eighth indoor track and field season since joining the league, the North Dakota State Bison took home both the Summit League Indoor Championship titles inside of the Lutheran Health Fieldhouse Saturday.

Men's Individual Awards
Newcomer of the Championship: Kevin Jackson, Oral Roberts
Most Outstanding Championship Performer: Alex Talley, North Dakota State
Field Championship MVP: Zack Anderson, South Dakota
Track Championship MVP: Devin Simon, Oral Roberts

Women's Individual Awards
Newcomer of the Championship: Annie Wendt, South Dakota State
Most Outstanding Championship Performer: Sasha Wells, Oral Roberts
Field Championship MVP: Shelby Gunnells, North Dakota State
Track Championship MVP: Kelby Anderson, North Dakota State

Final Standings
The North Dakota State women claimed their 13th consecutive indoor crown with 213.5 total points with South Dakota taking runner-up with 148 points. South Dakota State took third place with 94 points followed by North Dakota (72.5), Oral Roberts (72), Western Illinois (39), Purdue Fort Wayne (18) and Omaha (6).

On the men's side, the Bison were able to pull off the victory to claim their fourth league title in five years with a total of 211.5 points. The Jackrabbits finished with 179 points to take the runner-up spot. South Dakota (156.5), Oral Roberts (74.5), North Dakota (21.5), Western Illinois (11) and Purdue Fort Wayne (7) round out the standings.

Top Performers
Oral Roberts claimed two individual honors on the men's side taking home the Newcomer of the Championship and Track Championship MVP. ORU freshman Kevin Jackson took the men's newcomer of the Championship with a total of 15 points. He won his first career title in the 60m with a time of 6.78 and finished fourth in the 200m (21.83)

ORU's Devin Simon earned the most valuable track athlete totaling 18.5 points throughout the championships. Friday he earned the top spot in the prelims of the 200m after clocking a facility record of 21.66. He followed up his 200m performance claiming the second spot of the 400m prelims finishing with a time of 48.44. Simon returned Saturday to take home the title of the 400m (47.87), the bronze medal in the 200m (21.67) and run the third leg of winning 4x400m relay with a facility record time of 3:14.88.

South Dakota's Zack Anderson earned the title of the league's most valuable field athlete on the men's side taking both his events he competed in earning 20 total points. In yesterday's competition, he captured his first long jump title with a personal-best leap of 23-07.50 (7.20m). During today's competition, he became the three-time Summit League high jump champion after a notching a mark of 7-00.50 (2.15m)

North Dakota State's Alex Talley took home the meet's most outstanding performer on the men's side after totaling 18 points on the weekend. He locked up the weight throw title with a facility record launch of 73-11.50 (22.54m) and finished second in the shot put with a mark of 64-02.50 (19.14).

The Bison also secured two individual honors on the women's side. The 2019 Most Outstanding Championship Performer Kelby Anderson notched the 2020 Track Championships MVP after totaling 30 points on the weekend. On Friday, Anderson ran away with the 3,000m title, winning by a 19-second margin (9:28.54). Today, she defended her mile title taking the event with a time of 4:51.68 then went on to take the 5,000m with a time of 17:14.03.

Teammate Shelby Gunnells claimed the most valuable field athlete of the championship on the women's side after she tallied up 16 total points for the Bison. Gunnells captured her first career league title on Friday, winning the shot put with a mark of 55-07.50 (16.95m). Today she finished third in the weight throw with a personal-best 64-10.50 (19.77m) to move up to No. 7 in NDSU school history.

Oral Roberts' Sasha Wells moved ORU's individual award count total to three after notching the Most Outstanding Championship Performer on the women's side. She totaled 30 points for the Golden Eagles after winning the 60m (7.64), the 60m hurdles (8.44), finishing runner-up in the 200m (24.73) and running the final leg of the runner-up 4x400m relay. In yesterday's prelims of the 60m hurdles, she broke the facility and meet record with a time of 8.36.

South Dakota State's Annie Wendt secured her first league individual honor after she took home this year's women's newcomer of the championship accolade. She totaled eight points for the Jackrabbits by finishing second in the long jump with a mark of 19-00.50 (5.80m). 

Other Notable Performances
South Dakota's Brithton Senior secured his first career league title in the 60m hurdles with a league record and facility record time of 7.74.

South Dakota State's Sam Zenner defended his 200m title after clocking a facility record time of 21.60.

Oral Roberts' 4x400m relay team clocked a facility record time of 3:14.88 to take home the Golden Eagles' sixth consecutive league title in the event.

ORU's Kayvon Stubbs took home her second-straight 200m league title after clocking a time of 24.40 to earn the gold.

Men's Championships Won
Heptathlon: Kenneth McMahan, South Dakota | 5,327 points
Triple Jump: Joshua Tabla, Oral Roberts | 47-3 (14.40m)
High Jump: Zack Anderson, South Dakota | 7-00.50 (2.15)
Weight Throw: Alex Talley, North Dakota State | 73-11.50 (22.54)
Mile: Tim Heikkila, North Dakota State | 4:11.46
400m: Devin Simon, Oral Roberts | 47.87
60m: Kevin Jackson, Oral Roberts | 6.78
60m Hurdles: Brithton Senior, South Dakota | 7.74
800m: Jacob Rodin, North Dakota State | 1:52.66
200m: Sam Zenner, South Dakota State | 21.60
5,000m: Micah Mather, South Dakota State | 14:40.02
4x400m Relay: Oral Roberts | 3:14.88

Women's Championships Won
Weight Throw: Maddy Nilles, North Dakota State | 70-11.25 (21.62)
Pole Vault: Landon Kemp, South Dakota | 13-08.50 (4.18)
Triple Jump: Jodi Lipp, North Dakota State | 40-05.50 (12.33m)
High Jump: Addison Eisenbeisz, South Dakota State | 5-08.75 (1.75m)
Mile: Kelby Anderson, North Dakota State | 4:51.68
400m: Lucy Steinmeyer, North Dakota | 56.15
60m: Sasha Wells, Oral Roberts | 7.64
60m Hurdles: Sasha Wells, Oral Roberts 8.44
800m: Peyton Frolek, North Dakota State | 2:11.32
200m: Kayvon Stubbs, Oral Roberts | 24.40
5,000m: Kelby Anderson, North Dakota State | 17:14.03
4x400m Relay: North Dakota State | 3:48.12

Follow The Summit League
SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram