Three Summit League Basketball Standouts named candidates for 2018-19 Senior CLASS Award

Three Summit League Basketball Standouts named candidates for 2018-19 Senior CLASS Award

University of South Dakota & South Dakota State University

OVERLAND PARK, Kan.— South Dakota senior guard Allison Arens and South Dakota State senior's Macy Miller and Mike Daum were named as three of the 60 candidates for the men's and women's 2018-19 Senior CLASS Award Friday.

Allison Arens
Arens is a team captain and the Coyotes' lone senior this season. She is a two-time all-Summit League first team selection, helping the Coyotes to a perfect 14-0 Summit League regular season title in 2018.
An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior with notable achievements in the areas of community, classroom, character and competition.
A native of Crofton, Nebraska, Arens is an elementary education major at South Dakota with a 3.84 grade-point average. She earned 2017 CoSIDA Academic All-District honors and is a two-time Academic All-Summit League honoree.
Arens became South Dakota's 25th 1,000-point scorer in the season opener at Creighton. She averages nearly 10 points, four rebounds and 2.5 rebounds per game for her career. Arens holds five school records from the free-throw line, including her career percentage of 86.9. She's reached double figures in 51 of her 107 career games with 16 games above 20 points.
In the Vermillion community, Arens and her teammates volunteer with several different programs. She's involved with the Jolley Elementary School reading program, serves food at the Vermillion Welcome Table and volunteers with special needs students at Vermillion High School. Other activities the Coyotes have been involved with include an afternoon playing softball with the Miracle League of Sioux City, recycling and packaging goods for a food drive at the Vermillion Armory and sang Christmas carols at the Vermillion nursing home.

Macy Miller

Miller, an exercise science major, is one of nine student-athletes from the mid-major ranks and one of two from The Summit League (Allison Arens, South Dakota) named to the list. Last year, Ellie Thompson was also a candidate for the award.

Miller, the reigning Summit League Player of the Year, ranks third in the league in scoring (18.1) and in the top 10 in four other statistical categories. She was named one of 35 candidates for the 2019 Wade Trophy and picked up Summit League Player of the Week honors Nov. 19.
She is 44 points shy of becoming South Dakota State's all-time scoring leader, 156 points short of 2,000 career points and she needs 434 points to become The Summit League's career scoring leader.
Miller is a two-time Summit League All-Academic selection, a Summit League Commissioner's List of Academic Excellence recipient and a Distinguished Scholar on The Summit League Academic Honor Roll. She was also named to the SDSU Dean's list four times.
In the community, the Mitchell native has been a SAAC officer for two years, helping to raise more than 40,000 pounds of food for the local food pantry. She has also read books to elementary students in the Brookings community. As a member of the Brookings FCA, Miller packed boxes for Operation Christmas Child and had a mission trip to Belize where she cleaned churches, ran sports camps and ran Bible school.

Mike Daum

All-American Mike Daum paces the Jackrabbit offense with a double-double average of 24.1 points and 11.2 rebounds per game, shooting 51.4 percent from the field with 18 3-point field goals. Daum has dished 18 assists as well on the year and is playing 32.2 minutes per contest. The two-time Summit League Player of the Year now has 2,449 career points and ranks first all-time on SDSU's career scoring chart.
The list of candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists in February. Those names will be placed on the official ballot and voted on by nationwide media, coaches and fans. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced at the 2019 NCAA Women's Final Four.
Women's Basketball Candidates:

Kristine Anigwe Cal Berkeley   Megan Huff Utah
Allison Arens South Dakota   Paris Kea North Carolina
Sammie Bachrodt Drake   Jessica Kovatch Saint Francis
Cassidy Barrios Nicholls State   Deanna Kuzmanic Alabama
Allazia Blockton Marquette   Kitija Laksa South Florida
Bianca Boggs William & Mary   Kennedy Leonard Colorado
Kalani Brown Baylor   Teaira McCowan Mississippi State
KeKe Calloway Mercer   Macy Miller South Dakota State
Bridget Carleton Iowa State   Teniya Page Penn State
Napheesa Collier Connecticut   Katie Powell UNLV
Sophie Cunningham Missouri   Tori Schickel Butler
Asia Durr Louisville   Alanna Smith Stanford
Mart'e Grays DePaul   Hallie Thome Michigan
Megan Gustafson Iowa   Brianna Turner Notre Dame
Presley Hudson Central Michigan   Courtney Woods Northern Illinois

Men's Basketball Candidates:

Zach Braxton Weber State    Juwan Morgan Indiana 
Devontae Cacok UNC Wilmington   Matt Morgan Cornell 
Isaac Copeland Nebraska   Trey Moses Ball State 
Clayton Custer Loyola Chicago   Zane Najdawi The Citadel
Mike Daum South Dakota State    Michael Nzei Seton Hall 
Jon Elmore Marshall    Josh Perkins Gonzaga 
Frankie Ferrari San Francisco    Trey Phills Yale 
Jaire Grayer George Mason    Paul Rowley William & Mary
Ethan Happ Wisconsin    Tyler Seibring Elon 
Aric Holman Mississippi State    TJ Shorts II UC Davis
Dwayne Lautier-Ogunleye Bradley    Chris Silva South Carolina
Kimbal Mackenzie Bucknell    Lance Tejada Lehigh 
Terance Mann Florida State    Reid Travis Kentucky
Luke Maye North Carolina   Dylan Windler Belmont
Drew McDonald Northern Kentucky    Justin Wright-Foreman Hofstra 
2018-19 Basketball Media Day
October 19, 2018 2018-19 Basketball Media Day