Repeat winners headline #SummitWSOC all-league honors

Repeat winners headline #SummitWSOC all-league honors

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – Regular season co-champions South Dakota State and Denver both picked up a pair of individual awards on the eve of the Summit League Championship as league officials announced their annual women's soccer honors Wednesday.

For the Jackrabbits, junior Maggie Smither and senior Annie Williams repeated as Goalkeeper of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year, respectively, after anchoring an unit that only allowed three goals during Summit League action. Smither paced the league with 10 total shutouts and 12 victories, while Williams led a backline that helped blank five Summit League opponents.

Smither and Williams make up the first set of teammates in Summit League history to capture the individual defensive honors in back-to-back seasons. Both players are the second in league history to earn their individual honors in back-to-back seasons (GKOY, Sierra Bonham, NDSU; 2014-15 and DPOY, Gentry Detter; Oral Roberts, 2004-05).

Denver rookie Samantha Feller became the third straight Pioneer to earn the league's Freshman of the Year accolade. She adds her name to current teammates Hannah Adler (2016) and Meg Halvorson (2017), who also collected the award. Feller accounted for 18 points during her first collegiate season and three of her league-leading four game-winning goals were against league foes.

DU's Jeff Hooker was named the Coach of the Year after leading the Pioneers to a share of its third regular season title since joining the league in 2013. Hooker's squad finished with 11 victories and won four-straight down the stretch to secure the co-title.

Newcomer North Dakota provided the Offensive Player of the Year as senior Katie Moller led the league in goals with 15 and points with 35, which is the fourth-highest, single-season total in Summit League history. Moller also broke the league's single-match record for points by tallying nine against Purdue Fort Wayne when she scored four goals and added an assist during the 7-1 victory.

The Pioneers paced the field with eight all-league selections, including four on the first team. Adler, a junior midfielder, and Brittany Wilson, a junior goalkeeper, each earned their third consecutive all-league recognition. SDSU added six with Smither and Williams both landing on the first team.

Joining Feller, Moller, Smither and Williams on the first team were Adler, Halvorson and fellow Pioneer Cheyenne Shorts, the North Dakota State trio of Mariah Haberle, Hanna Norman and Roxy Roemer, and South Dakota's Taryn Labree.

Feller was also among a league-leading trio of Pioneers named to the All-Freshman Team. Omaha, who is making its first appearance in the Summit League Championship had a pair of rookies land on that team: goalkeeper Ina Gudjonsdottir and defender Margaret Lavigne.

Individual Awards
Offensive Player of the Year
Katie Moller, North Dakota
Defensive Player of the Year
Annie Williams, SDSU
Goalkeeper of the Year
Maggie Smither, SDSU
Freshman of the Year
Samantha Feller, Denver
Coach of the Year
Jeff Hooker, Denver

2018 All-Summit League Women's Soccer Teams
irst Team
Hannah Adler, Denver, MF  
Samantha Feller, Denver, F
Mariah Haberle, North Dakota State, F
Meg Halvorson, Denver, MF
Taryn Labree, South Dakota, MF
Katie Moller, North Dakota, F
Hanna Norman, North Dakota State, D
Roxy Roemer, North Dakota State, MF
Maggie Smither, South Dakota State, GK
Cheyenne Shorts, Denver, D
Annie Williams, South Dakota State, D

Second Team
Natalie Beckman, Denver, F
Susie Dineen, Omaha, D
Brittney Lewis, Denver, MF
Carina McClennan, South Dakota State, MF
Kyli Nelson, South Dakota State, MF
Taylor Parker, Denver, D
Leah Manuleleua, South Dakota State, F
Kellee Willer, South Dakota, F
Brittany Wilson, Denver, GK
Chamelle Wiltshire, Oral Roberts, D
Hannah Evans, South Dakota State, D

Freshman Team
Sunniva Dunagan, South Dakota State, MF
Samantha Feller, Denver, F
Teresa Fontenot, South Dakota, D
Hannah Hiatt, Denver, MF
Ina Gudjonsdottir, Omaha, GK
Margaret Lavigne, Omaha, D
Olivia Knox, North Dakota, F
Esther Malers, Denver, D
Karlee Manding, South Dakota State, MF
Chamelle Wiltshire, Oral Roberts, D
Kayla Wisniewski, Purdue Fort Wayne, F

Follow The Summit League
SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Through 36 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 115,000 at nine institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Purdue Fort Wayne (Purdue University Fort Wayne), the University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 12 NCAA Champions along with over 100 Academic All-Americans, and nearly 125 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level.