Denver claims second straight #SummitWSOC Championship

Denver won its second-consecutive #SummitWSOC Championship with a 4-0 win over Omaha Saturday in Brookings.
Denver won its second-consecutive #SummitWSOC Championship with a 4-0 win over Omaha Saturday in Brookings.

2018 Women's Soccer Championship Page | BracketPhoto Gallery | Highlights

Video: Head Coach Jeff Hooker
Video: Championship MVP Hannah Adler

The Basics

Score: No. 2 Denver 4, No. 4 Omaha 0
Records: Denver (13-5-2), Omaha (8-11-2)
Location: Fishback Soccer Complex

BROOKINGS, S.D. – Denver captured its second straight #SummitWSOC Championship on Saturday, defeating Omaha 4-0 in the title match at Fishback Soccer Complex. The Pioneers will be making their 11th appearance in the NCAA Tournament and clinched their third automatic berth as a Summit League member.

"We stuck with what was working," Denver head coach Jeff Hooker said. "We got a lot of shots, but not the quality chances that we wanted to in the first half and then just kept digging in and stayed with our game plan and it worked out well in the second half."

The Pioneers (13-5-2) dominated possession in the first half, reeling off 16 shots while the Mavericks never mounted a scoring chance.

Tournament  MVP Adler had a great opportunity around the 30-minute mark before she finally got one by Omaha goalkeeper Erin Bunker in the 41st-minute.

Adler's initial attempt was cleared off the goal line by Omaha defender Taylor Gelling following a DU corner kick, but her eighth goal of the season came nearly 10 minutes later when she chested down a rebound following a Samantha Feller shot attempt and buried it into the back of the net.

Bunker came up with six saves in the opening 45 minutes to keep her squad down just 1-0 heading into halftime, but the Pioneers would put the match away with a trio of second-half goals.

Freshman Camryn MacMillan put DU up 2-0 when she snuck one in after it careened off the crossbar. Feller, who joined MacMillan and Adler on the all-tournament team, logged her second assist of the match.

Omaha had its first two scoring chances in a back-to-back sequence in the 58th-minute, but Brittany Wilson fended off both of those shot attempts to keep Omaha off the board.

The Pioneers countered quickly and MacMillan buried a one-timer on a cross from Leah Swander to put her squad up 3-0.

Denver moved ahead 4-0 on an own goal by Omaha in the 59th-minute when a corner kick by Meg Halvorson was deflected into net by Margaret Lavigne.

This was Omaha's first appearance in The Summit League Championship and the Mavs had a trio of standouts named to the all-tournament team. Joining Geller on that list were Bailey Cascio, who had a hat trick in the semifinals against top-seed South Dakota State and midfielder Emily Romero.

The Pioneers will find out their NCAA Tournament destination on Monday following the Selection Show slated for a 3:30 p.m. CT start.

Turning point

  • After keeping the hard-pressing Pioneers off the scoreboard for the opening 40 minutes, Omaha finally surrendered one when junior Hannah Adler got a shot past Omaha's Erin Bunker to break a scoreless tie. 

Inside the box score

  • Omaha goalkeeper Emily Bunker came up with nine saves and the Mavericks added a team save as Denver put 14 shots on goal
  • It took nearly 58 minutes, but Omaha finally got a shot attempt on goal, but Denver goalkeeper Brittany Wilson came up with back-to-back saves
  • This is the fifth straight shutout for the Pioneers, who will ride six-match winning streak into the NCAA Tournament  

New & Notes

  • Denver's victory gave the Pioneers back-to-back titles in the #SummitWSOC Championship - both coming as the No. 2 seed 
  • DU freshman Camryn MacMillan became the ninth player in tournament history to score at least three goals in the tournament and her multiple-goal game in the final was the first of her career  
  • The four-goal margin matches the most in a #SummitWSOC title match set also by the Pioneers with a 5-1 victory over North Dakota State in 2013  

2018 All-Tournament Team
Hannah Adler, Denver (Tournament MVP)
Samantha Feller, Denver
Camryn MacMillan, Denver
Cheyenne Shorts, Denver
Bailey Cascio, Omaha
Taylor Gelling, Omaha
Emily Romero, Omaha
Holly Enderle, North Dakota State
Mallory Fenske, North Dakota State
Darien Poelstra, South Dakota State
Kelsi Wipf, South Dakota State