#SummitWSOC Weekly Notebook: Recap

Denver's Natalie Beckman led The Summit League in assists during the 2018 season with nine.
Denver's Natalie Beckman led The Summit League in assists during the 2018 season with nine.

WEEKLY NOTEBOOK: Recap (PDF w/stats)

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. -- The 2018 Summit League women's soccer season will go down as one of the most highly-contested in league history. South Dakota State and Denver shared the regular-season title with identical 7-1 league marks and the Pioneers won the Summit League Championship as the No. 2 seed for the second consecutive season.

The 2018 season was also the third straight year that the No. 4 seed advanced to the title match -- this time around it was an Omaha squad that caught fire late to make the postseason event for the first time in program history. The Mavericks' berth into the tournament came down to the final match of the regular season when they defeated Western Illinois and South Dakota defeated North Dakota.

The Pioneers' share of the regular-season title was the program's first since their inaugural season as a league member in 2013. Head coach Jeff Hooker was named Coach of the Year for the second time as well and the Pioneers finished with the most overall wins (13) thanks to their pair of shutouts at The Summit League Championship in Brookings. Hooker is now fifth among all-time Summit League coaches with a .576 winning percentage in DU's six seasons as a member.

The Jackrabbits put together an 11-match winning streak in league action that carried over from the 2017 season. That figure was one shy of North Dakota State's all-time record of 12 consecutive wins between 2010-11. The Jackrabbits registered 10 shutouts on the season and junior Maggie Smither accounted for all of those as she fell one short of the league's single-season record. Denver's Brittany Wilson matched that total thanks her blankings of North Dakota State and Omaha at The Summit League Championship.

Smither was named the league's Goalkeeper of the Year for the second consecutive season, while her teammate Annie Williams collected the Defensive Player of the Year award in back-to-back seasons as well.

North Dakota's Katie Moller was the first Summit League player to earn All-America honors since the 2013 season when she was named to the Senior CLASS Award second team. Her teammate, Olivia Swenson, was the first Summit League student-athlete to earn Google Could CoSIDA Academic All-America honors since 2016. Swenson was named to the third team and she was also a standout on the field where her 0.58 goals against average was the fifth-best in a single season in league history. 

Moller, who captured the league's Offensive Player of the Year accolade, entrenched her name several times in The Summit League Women's Soccer Record Book after putting together one of the best single-season performances in league history. She became just the fourth player in league history to record a four-goal contest and, with an assist in the same match (vs. Purdue Fort Wayne; Oct. 21), became the first player to record a nine-point match. Her 15 goals were the fourth most in a single season and her 35 points were the fifth most.

Moller also had two of the league's six hat tricks during the campaign which were the most the league has combined for in its history. The previous record of five was recorded in 2000.  Omaha's Bailey Cascio provided the sixth of the season in a Summit League Championship semifinal match victory over South Dakota State. Cascio's hat trick marked the third one registered in the postseason event.  

Samantha Feller was the third consecutive Pioneer to earn the Freshman of the Year accolade. She finished second to Moller in both goals scored (9) and points (22).

DU's Hannah Adler was named the Championship MVP after finishing as a first team All-Summit League performer for the second time in her career. Adler finished the season ranked among top five in goals scored (7), assists (7) and points (21).

National/Regional Awards
Google Cloud CoSIDA Academic All-America 
Olivia Swenson, North Dakota (Third)

Google Cloud CoSIDA All-District
Lindsay Yunasky, Purdue Fort Wayne (District 5)
Kellee Willer, South Dakota (District 6)
Olivia Swenson, North Dakota (District 6)

Senior CLASS Award All-America Team
Katie Moller, North Dakota (Second)

United Soccer Coaches All-West Region Team
Hannah Adler, Denver (Second)
Maggie Smither, South Dakota State (Second)
Annie Williams, South Dakota State (Second)
Samantha Feller, Denver (Third)
Taryn Labree, South Dakota (Third)

Offensive Player of the Year
Katie Moller, North Dakota
Defensive Player of the Year
Annie Williams, SDSU
Goalkeeper of the Year
Maggie Smither, SDSU
Freshman of the Year
Samantha Feller, Denver
Coach of the Year
Jeff Hooker, Denver
First Team
Hannah Adler, Denver, MF  
Samantha Feller, Denver, F
Mariah Haberle, North Dakota State, F
Meg Halvorson, Denver, MF
Taryn Labree, South Dakota, MF
Katie Moller, North Dakota, F
Hanna Norman, North Dakota State, D
Roxy Roemer, North Dakota State, MF
Maggie Smither, South Dakota State, GK
Cheyenne Shorts, Denver, D
Annie Williams, South Dakota State, D
Second Team
Natalie Beckman, Denver, F
Susie Dineen, Omaha, D
Brittney Lewis, Denver, MF
Carina McClennan, South Dakota State, MF
Kyli Nelson, South Dakota State, MF
Taylor Parker, Denver, D
Leah Manuleleua, South Dakota State, F
Kellee Willer, South Dakota, F
Brittany Wilson, Denver, GK
Chamelle Wiltshire, Oral Roberts, D
Hannah Evans, South Dakota State, D
Freshman Team
Sunniva Dunagan, South Dakota State, MF
Samantha Feller, Denver, F
Teresa Fontenot, South Dakota, D
Hannah Hiatt, Denver, MF
Ina Gudjonsdottir, Omaha, GK
Margaret Lavigne, Omaha, D
Olivia Knox, North Dakota, F
Esther Malers, Denver, D
Karlee Manding, South Dakota State, MF
Chamelle Wiltshire, Oral Roberts, D
Kayla Wisniewski, Purdue Fort Wayne, F

Summit League Academic All-League
Hannah Adler, Denver, MF
Holly Enderle, North Dakota State, MF
Hannah Evans, South Dakota State, MF
Meg Halvorson, Denver, F
Taryn Labree, South Dakota, MF
Leah Manuleleua, South Dakota State, F
Katie Moller, North Dakota, F
Roxy Roemer, North Dakota State, MF
Olivia Swenson, North Dakota, GK
Annie Williams, South Dakota State, D
Kellee Willer, South Dakota, MF
Brittany Wilson, Denver, GK
Lindsay Yankasky, Purdue Fort Wayne, D