#SummitVB Weekly Notebook: Season Review

South Dakota took down top-seeded Denver to advance to the NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Tournament for the first time in program history.
South Dakota took down top-seeded Denver to advance to the NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Tournament for the first time in program history.

WEEKLY NOTEBOOK: Season Review (PDF w/ stats)

By: Aubrie Laufenberg
SIOUX FALLS, S.D. –The 2018 Summit League volleyball season was one for the record book. South Dakota and Denver represented the league in the NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Tournament, making it the first time in league history that two teams advanced to the postseason event.

The 2018 season saw for the first time in Summit League history, two teams represent the league in the first round of the NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Tournament. South Dakota received the league's automatic bid after knocking off top-seeded Denver in a five-set thriller to claim the championship title. The championship match between the Coyotes and the Pioneers was the first time since 2012 that a No. 2 seed had beaten a No. 1 seed (No. 2 Purdue Fort Wayne beat No. 1 IUPUI 3-0). It was also the first time the Coyotes made an appearance at the Division I National Tournament. 

Denver earned the program's first at-large bid after an incredible season. The Pioneers finished the season with a 27-2 mark, having swept 16 matches on the year with 12 being at home inside Hamilton Gymnasium. Before their loss to South Dakota, the Pioneers had tallied a program-record 24-match win streak. With the at-large bid, it was Denver's fifth consecutive appearance in the tournament.

During the Summit League Championship, North Dakota State made history becoming the first No. 6 seed to upset a No. 3 seed to advance to the semifinals. The Bison defeated No. 3 Omaha in the quarterfinal match 3-1. The victory was the first time this season that North Dakota State beat Omaha. The first two matchups Omaha won 3-2 and 3-1. Because of the upset, NDSU advanced to its ninth semifinal match.

South Dakota's Taylor Wilson was named Championship MVP after hammering down a season-best 24 kills on a team-high .511 hitting percentage in the title match. Wilson led the league in hitting percentage a majority of the season and ended the year with a .377 clip, third best single-season mark in program history and eighth-best all-time in the league.  

Coyote teammates Hayley Dotseth and Anne Rasmussen accumulated individual season awards for their performances this season. Dotseth was named Player of the Year after she led the league in kills per set for a majority of the season. She earned both her 1,000th-career dig and kill making her only the fifth student-athlete in program history to reach such an accomplishment.

Rasmussen took home the Defensive Player of the Year accolade after earning her sixth career defensive player of the week award during the season and leading the league in digs per set and ranking second in total digs. She established a new school record for a three-set match with 32 digs and joined Dotseth in the Coyotes' 1,000-dig club.

Omaha's newcomer Sydney Case became only the third volleyball student-athlete in league history to earn two individual honors in the same season when she took home Freshman of the Year and Setter of the Year accolades. She spent most of the season atop the league statistics in assists per set.

National/Regional Awards
Google Cloud CoSIDA All-District
Anna Blaschko, Omaha (District 7 second team) 

AVCA All-Midwest Region Team
Taylor Wilson, South Dakota, MB 

AVCA All-Midwest Region Honorable Mention Team
Hayley Dotseth, South Dakota, OH
Becca Latham, Denver, OH 

Player of the Year
Hayley Dotseth, South Dakota

Defensive Player of the Year
Anne Rasmussen, South Dakota

Setter of the Year
Sydney Case, Omaha

Freshman of the Year
Sydney Case, Omaha

Coach of the Year
Tom Hogan, Denver

First Team
Hayley Dotseth, South Dakota, OH
Becca Latham, Denver, OH
Nicole Rightnowar, Purdue Fort Wayne, OH
Isabella Sade, Omaha, MB
Jordan Vail, North Dakota, MH
Sydney Case, Omaha, S
Anne Rasmussen, South Dakota, L/DS
Taylor Wilson, South Dakota, MB
Sydney Boerst, Purdue Fort Wayne, MH
Lydia Bartalo, Denver, OH
Katarina Marinkovic, Denver, OH
Tori Roe, Oral Roberts, L 

Honorable Mention
Madison Jurgens, South Dakota, S
Tina Boe, Denver, MB
Anna Blaschko, Omaha, MB
Ellie Anderson, Denver, S
Makenzie Hennen, South Dakota State, OH
Emma Willis, Denver, MB

Sydney Case, Omaha, S
Madison Jurgens, South Dakota, S
Sadie Limback, Omaha, RS
Taliyah Flores, North Dakota, L
Inka Inkret, Oral Roberts, OH
Kalli Hegerle, North Dakota State, S
Madelyn Wurster, Purdue Fort Wayne, RS 

Summit League Academic All-League
Tori Roe, Oral Roberts, L
Anne Rasmussen, South Dakota, L/DS
Elizabeth Britner, Purdue Fort Wayne, L
Madison Jaqua, Purdue Fort Wayne, S
Madison Jurgens, South Dakota, S
Anna Blachko, Omaha, MB

Follow The Summit League
SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram
JOIN THE CONVERSATION: #ReachTheSummit | #SummitVB


Through 36 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 115,000 at nine institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Purdue Fort Wayne (Purdue University Fort Wayne), the University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 12 NCAA Champions along with over 100 Academic All-Americans, nearly 125 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.