Cross Country Championships Set for Saturday

The 2018 Summit League Cross Country Championships will take place Saturday in Omaha, Neb.
The 2018 Summit League Cross Country Championships will take place Saturday in Omaha, Neb.

Women's Course Map | Men's Course Map | Spectator Information

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. –The 2018 Summit League Cross Country Championships will be hosted Saturday at Miracle Hill Golf and Tennis in Omaha, Neb. All seven men's teams and all eight women's teams will compete in the opening two of the league's 19 championships during the 2018-19 academic year.

The women's race is scheduled to begin at 10 a.m. CT with the men's race to follow at 11 a.m. Awards for both championships will follow the second race.

Need to know

Date: Saturday, Oct. 27

Times: 10 a.m. CT (Women's), 11 a.m. CT (Men's)

Location: Miracle Hill Golf and Tennis

Host: University of Nebraska Omaha

Live Results: Here

Facebook Live Video: Here

Where to look

For anything and everything regarding The Summit League Cross Country Championships, visit the official championship website here.

Follow The Summit League

Don't miss a thing. To keep updated, follow The Summit League on all its social media sites. Head over to our Facebook page for a live video of the women's finish around 10:15 a.m. CT and for the men's finish around 11:20 a.m. CT.

Twitter: @summitchamps
Instagram: @thesummitleague
Facebook: The Summit League

Men's Front Runners

  • South Dakota State looks to earn its third-consecutive Summit League Championship title
  • The Jackrabbits come into the championship ranked No. 11 in the USTFCCCA Midwest Regional rankings
  • SDSU men have finished first or second in eight out of the last nine league championships
  • South Dakota State's Chase Cayo holds the league's fastest 8K time of the season (24:48.5), while North Dakota State's Evan Kottsick holds the fastest 6K time (18:31.0)
  • Cayo, who is the reigning Summit League Champion, was named the Cross Country Male Athlete of the Week twice this season with teammate Gabe Peters earning the honor once
  • Other weekly award honorees include Kottsick and Oral Roberts' freshmen Tyler Arrington and Braden Clapp

Last Five Men's Champions


2017: South Dakota State
2016: South Dakota State
2015: IUPUI
2014: IUPUI
2013: South Dakota State 


2017: Chase Cayo, South Dakota State
2016: Joel Reichow, South Dakota State
2015: Trent Lusignan, South Dakota State
2014: Tom Ohlman, IUPUI
2013: Trent Lusignan, South Dakota State

Women's Front Runners

  • Omaha will serve as the host for the championships for the first time
  • South Dakota is favored to claim its fifth-consecutive championship
  • USD's women's streak of four-straight titles ranks seventh among active conference title streaks
  • The Coyotes enter the league meet ranked No. 4 in the USTFCCCA Midwest Rankings as South Dakota State is are ranked No. 15.
  • Purdue Fort Wayne's Emma Rafuse owns the league's fastest times this season in both the 5K (16:58.9) and the 6K (20:44.5)
  • Rafuse has claimed the Cross Country Female Athlete of the Week award three times this season
  • USD's Megan Billington picked up the first weekly award of the season, while Oral Roberts' Jessica Romero and Sharon Jepkemoi also claimed the weekly honor once

Last Five Women's Champions


2017: South Dakota
2016: South Dakota
2015: South Dakota
2014: South Dakota
2013: North Dakota State 


2017: Rachel King, South Dakota State
2016: Emily Donnay, South Dakota State
2015: Erin Teschuk, North Dakota State
2014: Erin Teschuk, North Dakota State
2013: Brecca Wahlund, North Dakota State

Follow The Summit League
SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram
JOIN THE CONVERSATION: #ReachTheSummit | #SummitXC


Through 36 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 115,000 at nine institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), the University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, Purdue Fort Wayne (Purdue University Fort Wayne), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 12 NCAA Champions along with over 100 Academic All-Americans, nearly 125 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.